Planned Train Disruptions and Engineering Works

To improve and maintain the railway, Network Rail regularly carry out planned engineering and improvement work on our lines. Below are some of the essential engineering and improvement works that may affect you. So please, plan your journey in advance or keep up to speed with our online live departure and arrival boards.

Essential Network Rail works are taking place over the August Bank Holiday weekend.

Buses replace trains between Birmingham International - Rugby

Works are taking place between Birmingham International and Rugby from Saturday 29 August until Monday 31 August inclusive. As a result:

  • Buses replace trains on all journeys between Birmingham International - Rugby (impacting our Birmingham - Coventry - Northampton and Birmingham - Northampton - London services)
  • West Midlands Railway services between Nuneaton - Coventry and Coventry - Leamington Spa will also be impacted

Buses replace trains between Crewe - Liverpool South Parkway

Works are also taking place between Crewe - Liverpool from Saturday 29 August until Monday 31 August inclusive:

  • Buses replace trains on all journeys between Crewe - Liverpool South Parkway

Valid LNR tickets to Liverpool will be accepted on Merseyrail services for onward journeys from Liverpool South Parkway to Liverpool Central / Moorfields.

Buses replace trains between Milton Keynes Central - London Euston on morning of Sunday 30 August

  • Buses replace trains on all journeys between Milton Keynes Central - London Euston, until 07.35 AM on Sunday 30 August

Let’s travel safely this summer

If you’re travelling over the August Bank Holiday weekend, please keep the following in mind:

  • Please remember unless you’re exempt, you must wear a face covering in stations and on trains
  • One-way systems may be in place at some stations and you may need to queue to board services as we continue to support social distancing
  • A reduced timetable will be running, changes to journeys will be in place and journey times will be extended significantly as buses replace trains on some routes

Planned improvement works

Check the calendar for a summary of the work we’ve got planned over the next few weeks.

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Alterations

Mon, 27/07/2020 to Sat, 01/08/2020 Amended late night / early morning trains at Bushey from Monday 27 to Friday 31 July
Locations affected: Between London Euston and Milton Keynes Central / Northampton / Birmingham New Street
Fri, 31/07/2020 to Sat, 01/08/2020 Amended 23:04 London Euston to Northampton service on Friday 31 July
Locations affected: London Northwestern Railway between London Euston and Northampton
Sat, 01/08/2020 to Sun, 02/08/2020 Amended 22:06 Liverpool Lime Street to Crewe service on Saturday 1 August
Locations affected: From Liverpool Lime Street to Crewe
Sat, 01/08/2020 to Sun, 02/08/2020 Amended 20:38 Crewe to London Euston service on Saturday 1 August
Locations affected: From Crewe to London Euston
Sun, 02/08/2020 to Mon, 03/08/2020 Buses replace London Northwestern Railway services between Rugby and Stafford on Sunday 2 August
Locations affected: Avanti West Coast services via Nuneaton London Northwestern Railway between London Euston and Crewe
Mon, 10/08/2020 to Fri, 14/08/2020 Buses replace London Northwestern Railway trains between Milton Keynes Central and Northampton from Monday 10 to Thursday 13 August
Locations affected: Between London Euston and Birmingham New Street / Northampton
Mon, 10/08/2020 to Sat, 15/08/2020 Alterations to Late night Southeastern services Monday 10 to Friday 14 August
Locations affected: Various Southeastern routes
Sun, 16/08/2020 to Mon, 17/08/2020 Buses replace trains from London Northwestern Railway trains between London Euston and Milton Keynes Central / Northampton until 07:35 Sunday 16 August
Locations affected: Between London Euston and Milton Keynes / Northampton
Sun, 16/08/2020 to Mon, 17/08/2020 Amended morning trains between Wolverhampton and Birmingham New Street on Sunday 16 August
Locations affected: London Northwestern Railway / West Midlands Railway running between Wolverhampton and Birmingham New Street
Tue, 18/08/2020 to Fri, 21/08/2020 Amended 22:55 Birmingham New Street to Northampton from Tuesday 18 to Thursday 20 August
Locations affected: Between Birmingham New Street and Northampton
Sun, 23/08/2020 to Mon, 24/08/2020 Buses replace trains from London Northwestern Railway trains between London Euston and Milton Keynes Central / Northampton until 07:35 Sunday 23 August
Locations affected: Between London Euston and Milton Keynes Central / Northampton
Sat, 29/08/2020 to Tue, 01/09/2020 Major improvement work between Rugby and Birmingham International Saturday 29 to Monday 31 August
Locations affected: All routes through Coventry
Sat, 29/08/2020 to Tue, 01/09/2020 Buses replace trains between Downham Market and KIngs Lynn from Saturday 29 to Monday 31 August
Locations affected: Between London Kings Cross and Kings Lynn