Planned Train Disruptions and Engineering Works

To improve and maintain the railway, Network Rail regularly carry out planned engineering and improvement work on our lines. Below are some of the essential engineering and improvement works that may affect you. So please, plan your journey in advance or keep up to speed with our online live departure and arrival boards.

Essential Network Rail works are taking place between Northampton - London Euston over 3 weekends in January 2021:

  • From 21.00 on Saturday 16th January 2021 until 05.40 on Monday 18th January 2021 - a reduced timetable will be running between Northampton - London Euston.
  • On Sunday 24th January 2021 - Long distance services between London - Birmingham / Crewe will be diverted, and will not call at Northampton and Long Buckby. Fully accessible rail replacement buses will be running between Rugby - Northampton - Milton Keynes Central during this time.
  • Until 07.35 on Sunday 24th January 2021 & Sunday 31st January - fully accessible rail replacement buses will be running between Northampton - London Euston.

Travelling during this time? Please plan ahead and allow extra time for your journey.

Check your train times here

Rail replacement timetables will be published here when they are available

Planned improvement works

Check the calendar for a summary of the work we’ve got planned over the next few weeks

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Alterations

Fri, 01/01/2021 Buses replace trains between Birmingham New Street and Wolverhampton before 12:00 on Friday 1 January
Locations affected: All services between Birmingham New Street and Wolverhampton
Sun, 03/01/2021 Amended trains between London Euston and Milton Keynes Central / Northampton on Sunday 3 January
Locations affected: Avanti West Coast between London Euston and Liverpool Lime Street / Manchester Piccadilly / Glasgow Central / Edinburgh / Wolverhampton London Northwestern Railway between London Euston and Birmingham New Street / Crewe / Northampton
Sun, 17/01/2021 Reduced London Northwestern Railway service between London Euston and Birmingham New Street after 12:00 on Sunday 17 January
Locations affected: Between London Euston and Birmingham New Street
Sun, 24/01/2021 Buses replace trains to / from Northampton on Sunday 24 January
Locations affected: London Northwestern Railway between London Euston and Northampton / Birmingham New Street, and between Northampton and Birmingham New Street
Mon, 25/01/2021 to Fri, 29/01/2021 Amended late night / early morning services at Bushey from Monday 25 to Friday 29 January
Locations affected: London Northwestern Railway services between London Euston and Bushey
Mon, 25/01/2021 to Thu, 28/01/2021 Buses replace late night trains to / from Northampton from Monday 25 to Thursday 28 January
Locations affected: London Northwestern Railway services to / from / via Northampton
Mon, 25/01/2021 to Thu, 28/01/2021 Buses replace late night trains to / from Atherstone from Monday 25 to Thursday 28 January
Locations affected: London Northwestern Railway between Crewe and Northampton
Sat, 30/01/2021 Revised 00:35 London Euston to Northampton service on Saturday 30 January
Locations affected: From London Euston to Northampton
Sun, 31/01/2021 Buses replace trains between London Euston and Milton Keynes Central / Northampton until 07:35 on Sunday 31 January
Locations affected: Between London Euston and Milton Keynes Central / Northampton