Planned train disruptions and engineering works

To improve and maintain the railway, Network Rail regularly carry out planned engineering and improvement work on our lines. Below are some of the essential engineering and improvement works that may affect you. So please, plan your journey in advance or keep up to speed with our online live departure and arrival boards.

Essential works are being delivered in October, impacting journeys across our network. If you’re travelling during this time, please remember to plan ahead. Check the information below to see if your journey will be impacted.

To/from London Euston (including Trent Valley services to/from Crewe)

  • Until 19.00 on Sunday 31 October, buses replace trains between Rugby – Northampton – Milton Keynes Central.
  • A revised timetable will be running between London Euston – Tring / Northampton / Birmingham New St / Crewe.

Journeys through Wolverhampton

Sunday 31 October

  • Trains will be running between Liverpool – Crewe, Crewe – Stafford (via Stoke-on-Trent) and Tipton – Birmingham New St.
  • Buses replace trains between Stafford – Wolverhampton, and Wolverhampton – Tipton.

Network Rail is carrying out essential works through November impacting journeys to/from London Euston, and between Rugby - Stafford.

Sunday 21 November

  • Until 07.35, accessible buses replace trains between Northampton / Milton Keynes Central – London Euston
  • From 07.35, trains between Northampton – London Euston will run between Milton Keynes Central – London Euston only
  • Trains between Crewe / Birmingham New Street – London Euston will be diverted and will not call at Northampton & Long Buckby (accessible buses replace trains between Rugby – Northampton – Milton Keynes Central)
  • Trains between Birmingham New Street – Northampton will run between Birmingham New Street – Coventry / Rugby only
  • Until 12.10, buses replace trains between Rugby - Stafford

Saturday 27 November

  • Until 20.00, trains between Northampton / Milton Keynes Central – London Euston will run to a special timetable at a reduced level of frequency
  • Most journeys between Birmingham New Street – London Euston will require a change at Northampton
  • Trains between Crewe / Northampton – London Euston will be retimed to run up to 5 minutes earlier between Northampton – Rugby

Sunday 28 November

  • Until 12.10, buses replace trains between Rugby - Stafford

Planned improvement works

Check the calendar for a summary of the work we’ve got planned over the next few weeks

December 2021
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Alterations

Dates Alterations
Tue, 30/11/2021 to Fri, 03/12/2021 Amended evening / morning services at Bushey from Tuesday 30 November to Friday 3 December
Locations affected: London Northwestern Railway between London Euston and Milton Keynes Central / Northampton
Wed, 01/12/2021 Buses replace trains between Watford Junction and St Albans Abbey before 06:30 on Wednesday 1 December
Locations affected: London Northwestern Railway between Watford Junction and St Albans Abbey
Fri, 03/12/2021 Buses replace trains between Watford Junction and St Albans Abbey before 06:30 on Friday 3 December
Locations affected: London Northwestern Railway between Watford Junction and St Albans Abbey
Sat, 04/12/2021 Amended 00:35 London Euston to Northampton service on Saturday 4 December
Locations affected: Between London Euston and Northampton
Sun, 05/12/2021 Until 12:10: Amended service between Rugby and Stafford on Sunday 5 December
Locations affected: Avanti West Coast between London Euston and Birmingham New Street / Shrewsbury / Crewe / Chester / Holyhead / Liverpool Lime Street / Manchester Piccadilly / Preston / Carlisle / Glasgow Central / Edinburgh London Northwestern Railway between London Euston / Northampton and Crewe
Sun, 12/12/2021 Until 08:45: Buses replace trains between Milton Keynes Central and Northampton on Sunday 12 December
Locations affected: Between London Euston and Northampton
Mon, 13/12/2021 to Fri, 17/12/2021 Amended late night / early morning service at Bushey from Monday 13 to Friday 17 December
Locations affected: Between London Euston and Milton Keynes Central / Northampton
Wed, 15/12/2021 Until 06:30: Buses replace trains between Watford Junction and St Albans Abbey on Wednesday 15 December
Locations affected: Between Watford Junction and St Albans Abbey
Fri, 17/12/2021 Buses replace trains between Watford Junction and St Albans Abbey before 06:30 on Friday 17 December
Locations affected: Between Watford Junction and St Albans Abbey
Sat, 18/12/2021 Amended 00:35 London Euston to Northampton service on Saturday 18 December
Locations affected: Between London Euston and Northampton
Sun, 19/12/2021 Until 07:35: Buses replace trains between London Euston and Milton Keynes Central / Northampton on Sunday 19 December
Locations affected: Between London Euston and Milton Keynes Central / Northampton
Mon, 27/12/2021 Amended London Northwestern Railway service between London Euston and Tring / Milton Keynes Central / Northampton on Monday 27 December
Locations affected: Between London Euston and Tring / Milton Keynes Central / Northampton and between Birmingham New Street and London Euston
Mon, 27/12/2021 to Fri, 31/12/2021 Buses replace late night / early morning trains between Milton Keynes Central and Northampton from Monday 27 to Friday 31 December
Locations affected: Between London Euston and Milton Keynes Central / Northampton / Birmingham New Street